Our governance

abcd is a registered charity and company limited by guarantee.

It has a Board of Trustees, who are both Trustees of the charity and Directors of the company. The Trustees, collectively and individually, hold principal responsibility for the strategic and financial stewardship of the Association.

Our Advisory Council is comprised of representatives from the various regions of abcd, our Corporate members and a number of elected practitioners who represent a wide rang of choral music sectors. Together, they have responsibility for advising on artistic direction, activity and membership.

Board of Trustees

Leslie East (Chair)
Martin Ashley
Melanie Crompton
Julia Mayall
Peter Owens
Jonathan Startup
Mark Sproson

Advisory Council

Leslie East (Chair)


Naveen Arles
Ian Assersohn
Amy Bebbington
James Davey
Gillian Dibden
Ken Fayle
Jeremy Haneman
Martin Seymour
Jonathan Schranz

Corporate Representatives

Griselda Sherlaw-Johnson (Oxford University Press)
James Eggleston (Boosey & Hawkes)

Regional Representatives

North: Enid Mitchell
North West: Martin Cook
Midlands: Richard Jeffries
Scotland: Anne Corbet
Yorkshire: Tom Leech